Military Forum for Russian and Global Defence Issues


    Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Share

    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:03 am

    The title basically sums up this thread... I'd love to know your coffee setups (equipment), favorite coffee so roosters etc.

    OK... My setup...

    As an espresso drinker;

    Grinder - Mazzer Mini
    Machine - Rocket Espresso Cellini V.2
    Tamper - One from a Cafe one of my relatives worked at
    Coffee - Paradise Roasters (recommended, they roast great tasting coffee at a realistic price) Espresso Nuevo

    I'll edit in a picture;



    Last edited by Mike E on Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:12 am; edited 1 time in total

    George1
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 9432
    Points : 9924
    Join date : 2011-12-22
    Location : Greece

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  George1 on Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:09 am

    my favourite coffee is frappe


    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:14 am

    I use to drink Frappés all the time, but nowadays I'm basically a 6oz cappuccino drinker.

    TR1
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 5840
    Points : 5892
    Join date : 2011-12-06

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  TR1 on Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:25 am

    Damn, nice setup.


    I have a Nespresso machine for when I have no time to make anything else, aside from that I just use a French Press.
    Been drinking illy lately

    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:36 am

    Thanks... Sure costed a pretty penny though. Laughing

    Whatever works... works TBH. French press is pretty good, had one for a bit but gave it away when I got my current machine. - Just takes a bit of time to roast.

    illy is actually pretty decent stuff, but it is super expensive for the quantity that you get. The roast I'm using right now isn't much more than $10/lb, which is very respectable for its quality. So to any coffee drinkers here in the US, I recommend anything from either Paradise Roasters or Red Bird Espresso. Both are very well respected roasters that are known for their wonderfully low prices.

    TR1
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 5840
    Points : 5892
    Join date : 2011-12-06

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  TR1 on Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:12 am

    Yeah the price is rough. Would be better if they actually filled up the entire damn can- their vacuum system is awesome but sub 20 bucks for a 3/4 at best full jar....bah.

    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:14 pm

    TR1 wrote:Yeah the price is rough. Would be better if they actually filled up the entire damn can- their vacuum system is awesome but sub 20 bucks for a 3/4 at best full jar....bah.
    Yeah.... They charge roughly $2 per 1 oz which is ridiculous (Amazon prices). The Coffee I'm drinking now (which I buy in large quantities of 5lb) costs me $47 for one month of it.

    Werewolf
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 5390
    Points : 5639
    Join date : 2012-10-24

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Werewolf on Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:24 pm

    You junky, Mike!

    I am no big coffee drinker but such big pile of money just for hot water over coffee beans i find it unreasonable.

    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:47 am

    Werewolf wrote:You junky, Mike!

    I am no big coffee drinker but such big pile of money just for hot water over coffee beans i find it unreasonable.
    To each his own... I'm not so much "addicted" to coffee as I have a passion for it. The process of making it and drinking it are a pleasure... to me at least. That being said, many members of my family have been coffee drinkers/connoisseur so that might be a factor.

    Morpheus Eberhardt
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 1967
    Points : 2092
    Join date : 2013-05-20

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Morpheus Eberhardt on Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:10 am

    Mike,

    Your espresso setup is very impressive.

    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:13 am

    Morpheus Eberhardt wrote:Mike,

    Your espresso setup is very impressive.
    Thanks. Very Happy

    I'd like to add that my favorite local roaster here in the Bay Area is Verve, if any of you guys know who they are.

    collegeboy16
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 1207
    Points : 1234
    Join date : 2012-10-05
    Age : 20
    Location : Roanapur

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  collegeboy16 on Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:27 pm

    Werewolf wrote:You junky, Mike!

    I am no big coffee drinker but such big pile of money just for hot water over coffee beans i find it unreasonable.
    yeah, ice cold water in the morning is enuff for me, or maybe some ersatz instant sludge Cool .

    Mike E
    Colonel
    Colonel

    Posts : 2789
    Points : 2853
    Join date : 2014-06-19
    Location : Bay Area, CA

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Mike E on Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:31 pm

    collegeboy16 wrote:
    Werewolf wrote:You junky, Mike!

    I am no big coffee drinker but such big pile of money just for hot water over coffee beans i find it unreasonable.
    yeah, ice cold water in the morning is enuff for me, or maybe some ersatz instant sludge Cool .
    Cold water will work, that's for sure...  Laughing

    Sponsored content

    Re: Everything About Coffee! - Opinions, setups, local roasters and the like.

    Post  Sponsored content Today at 3:04 pm


      Current date/time is Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:04 pm